Wednesday, September 03, 2008

New Jake One - "The Truth" (feat. Brother Ali and Freeway")

Download: Jake One - "The Truth" (feat. Brother Ali and Freeway)

You may know Seattle hip-hop producer Jake One from his work with an impressive array of rap artists, including De La Soul, Nas, 50 Cent (which makes sense, what with being a member of the G-Unit production team) and MF Doom. In his many years in the game, One has managed quite an impressive resume. A document that does not, however, include solo artists.

Needless to say, that has changed. On October 7th, Jake One will release his debut album in front of the mic. It's called White Van Music, and it will be released via Rhymesayers, the Minneapolis label that also debuted the first single, "The Truth". The song features a verse from Brother Ali, who knows a thing or two about the truth, specifically its location. In contrast to Ali's reggae-derived sonic rabble-rousing, the beats here are a little more chill, letting the verses from Freeway and Ali take the spotlight. There's a distinctly gospel vibe here, whether is the preacher tone that the Brother takes in his verses, or the haunting harmonies hovering in the background. The focus point here, obviously, is the beat, and Jake One has created another set of rhythms that should look impressive against the rest of his diverse sonic portfolio. Listen to "The Truth" at the top of the post.

Here's the tracklist for White Van Music:

01. I’m Coming feat. Black Milk & Nottz
02. Gangsta Boy feat. M.O.P.
03. The Truth feat. Freeway & Brother Ali
04. Turn It Down
05. God Like feat. D. Black
06. Bless The Child feat. Little Brother
07. Oh Really feat. Posdnuos & Slug
08. Hi
09. Trap Door feat. MF DOOM
10. Dead Wrong feat. Young Buck
11. Kissin' The Curb feat. Bishop Lamont & Busta Rhymes
12. How We Ride feat. Freeway
13. White Van feat. Alchemist, Evidence & Prodigy
14. Big Homie Style feat. J. Pinder, GMK & Spaceman
15. Scared feat. Blueprint
16. Great Sound
17. Get 'Er Done feat. MF DOOM
18. Feelin' My Shit feat. Casual
19. Soil Raps feat. Keak Da Sneak
20. Glow feat. eLZhi & Royce Da 5'9"
21. R.I.P.
22. Home feat. Vitamin D, C Note, Maine & Ish

White Van Music is out Oct. 7th.

Jake One MySpace Page

(Jonathan Graef)

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

No Fax Payday Loans